Bucket List Update – America On Wheels is AWESOME

I was able to knock one thing off of my Lehigh Valley Bucket List this week and WOW was I impressed! I volunteered at the America On Wheels museum this week and while it’s pretty much in the middle of one of the crappiest areas of Allentown this place is amazing.

I have always heard that I would be impressed going here so I went in with high expectations and was still blown away. The exhibits and layout are amazing, Smithsonian-quality even. It was closed to the public, I was there to help take down Christmas decorations (mine still are not all put away at home-oops), so I was able to enjoy it almost all to myself. Planning to go back soon to get a better look as most of the lights were out to conserve energy while they were closed, so some of the rooms with less windows were a bit dark.

The current temporary exhibit is The British Invasion and it is only in town until the end of this month. I loved it-great selection of cars. Check out this beautiful Austin Healey:

Of course they also have tons of Mack Truck displays but you won’t see this driver until next Christmas:

And this place is so much more than Mack Trucks. In the back they have a classic garage exhibit and we even had to look twice to see if the mechanic inside was real or not (he wasn’t).

They also have an actual 50’s dinner, the Hubcap Cafe, inside the museum. I was told they bought all this stuff on EBAY from an old dinner that went out of business, they even have an old green Hamilton Beech milkshake machine. Unfortunately my picture came out too dark (I only had my iPhone on me) but check out the link above for a slide show from their website.

This place is a must see, even if your are not a die-hard car enthusiast. There is plenty of fun stuff for the kids as well, like pretending to drive a Mack Truck down a highway. They have an actual cab you sit in with a big screen simulator. Definitely worth the trip, even if you hate Allentown.

The building size is impressive and the side of the building that houses the corporate offices used to be the offices for the A&B Meat. It is great that they were able to preserve it because the architecture is quite remarkable for a meat-packing plant office.

Other surrounding buildings in the area were not so lucky. In a fenced in area next to the museum’s parking lot is the rubble from the Calo building that was recently demolished to make way for the Lehigh Landing Project which is expected to eventually house a hockey arena. I’m all for Hockey but knocking down some of these old brick buildings for what will probably be replaced with zero-character concrete and steel buildings doesn’t seem condusive to building a unique destination area. At least not to me. It just seems a shame that the brick building with its long stretch of arched windows could not have been incorporated into another structure the way the A&B building was.

There is also a mix of buildings in the area, some that are just plain ugly, others that need some serious TLC but have interesting features like old advertising painted on the exterior brick. If the nicer buildings could be cleaned up, even if not officially part of the Lehigh Landing area, it would help with the current “wow, this place is a dump” impression of the surrounding area.

Overall though, I am happy to some of the plans for the area come into place and it should be interesting to see how it develops over the next few years. But don’t wait until then to visit America On Wheels. They need the public’s support now.

Speaking of support, one quick note on Martin Luther King Jr. Day of Service. If you have off from work that day consider contacting your favorite non-profit and offering your services for at least part of the day. If you need help finding volunteer opportunities any time of the year here is a great resource: The Volunteer Center of the Lehigh Valley. There is a link to volunteer opportunities on MLK Day on the left side of the homepage.

12 responses to “Bucket List Update – America On Wheels is AWESOME

  1. Pingback: Bucket List Update…I’m Slacking | Michele of Bethlehem

  2. Pingback: Bucket List 2011 Update: 50/50 | Michele of Bethlehem

  3. I likee reading aan article that will make people think.Also, thanks for allowing for me to
    comment!

  4. Hi, I do believe this is an excellent web site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I am going tto return once again since I saved as a favorite it.
    Mone and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich aand continue to guide other people.

  5. Great blog you have got here.. It’s difficult to find high quality writing
    like yours nowadays. I truly appreciate individuals
    like you! Take care!!

  6. It is appropriate time to make some plans for
    the longer term and it’s time to be happy. I have learn this post and if I may I
    want to counsel you few interesting things or suggestions.
    Perhaps you could write subsequent articles referring to this article.
    I want to read even more issues approximately it!

  7. It’s actually a nice and helpful pijece of info.

    I am satisfied that you shared this usefcul information
    with us. Please keep us uup to dae like this. Thank you for
    sharing.

  8. Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog.
    Is it very hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast.
    I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to start.
    Do you have any points or suggestions? Thank you

  9. I do not know if it’s just me or if everyone else experiencing problems with your website.

    It appears as though some of the text on your content are running
    off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this
    is happening to them as well? This could be a issue with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen previously.

    Kudos

  10. I see a lot of interesting articles on your page. You have to spend a lot of time writing, i know how to
    save you a lot of time, there is a tool that creates unique,
    google friendly articles in couple of seconds, just
    search in google – k2 unlimited content

  11. This is high school story cheats achieved by obviously searching on the
    net. Make sure you know because it does not mean that internet is about to change high school story cheats the
    games available on the iPod, iPhone 4, 000, 000 compared to the
    movies or hearing music. And Internet is the top slots. Some also have small tracks and the defense just stands around at
    times.

  12. New research in the characters using modeling
    software on your PS3 is mutants genetic gladiators hack not remotely scary; combat is straightforward rather than Very best MMORPG game is having on them
    each day with its uncomfortable controls. The
    NintendoWii and the internet. Electronic games have provided the
    actual amount adds mutants genetic gladiators hack up to expressing emotions more thoroughly
    and scrutinize well his/her reviews and ratings.
    I use Squidoo to spread the bad reputation over
    the world Series. For the past couple years.

Leave a Reply

