Bucket List Update: Artsquest Souper Bowl

Wow, it’s been a while. Lot’s of little things to update everyone on.

First, I crossed another thing off of my 2011 bucket list: The Souper Bowl at the Banana Factory. This was the second annual event to run on Saturday, the weekend before the Super Bowl. If they continue on their sell out streak the only way to go next year is to pre-order your tickets. The event benefits Artsquest B. Smart after school enrichment program.

The event was very well attended (read: shoulder to shoulder packed) and I left completely stuffed with soup. I didn’t realize how full you can get from tiny cups of soup…granted a lot of tiny cups of soup. Two of my favorites were voted by ticket holders as the best soups: Cathy’s Creative Catering of Catasauqua had an amazing coconut shrimp bisque and Bethlehem’s Blue Sky Cafe‘s chilled blueberry soup. The coconut shrimp bisque was the only soup that made me say “wow!” its unique flavor really hit me on the first sip. The chilled blueberry was the only soup for which I went back for seconds. I somehow missed the Hampton Winds chicken paprikash, which was also voted into the top three. I’m sure it was amazing, there was some buzz about this one on Twitter.

I was so full after about an hour or so that I just had to quit, I didn’t make it through all of the soups. There was only one soup that I really disliked, all of the others were very good, but the two winners I mentioned really stood out and I was hard pressed to come up with a third one to vote for (ticket holders could vote for up to three soups).

It was a nice event but it could have used some entertainment and maybe could have been laid out a little better. For example all of the soup stations lined the walls, which is the expected arrangement, but it would have been more creative to have the soup stations in the middle so that the guests could admire the art on the walls of the two galleries.  As for entertainment, once I was full I left because there really was nothing else to do other than eat soup.

All in all, it is for a great cause, it’s a nice event and I’d do it again.

So that’s 2 out of 12 things checked off the bucket list in January, I have another one planned in February and two more already planned for June. I’m on a roll! I’m finding that actually putting the list in writing and out there for others to see has really helped me make progress. It gets people talking and people who already love something on my list have invited me to experience it with them and someone else who also always wanted to do something on the list has reached out and we made plans to get it done. It’s been great! Feel free to share your bucket list progress in the comments!

7 responses to “Bucket List Update: Artsquest Souper Bowl

  1. The chicken paprikash was excellent. I somehow forgot about that one, probably because it was one of my first samples. I was in a soup coma for the rest of the day and smelled like soup, but it was great. I wouldn’t miss it.

  2. Big thanks to all the restaurants who donated time and supplies to make the event happen. I will thank then in more than words. I’ll visit their places of business.

  3. Pingback: Bucket List Update…I’m Slacking | Michele of Bethlehem

  4. Pingback: Bucket List 2011 Update: 50/50 | Michele of Bethlehem

  5. Buyers of pre-owned trucks from trustworthy dealers can purchase a late-model used truck, carrying
    on the manufacturer warranties. Usually they can give you a maintenance history, what the used truck was used for and weather or not it was mostly driven for highway use, off road, or just working in the city.
    Think about what car model and options you want and how much you are
    willing to spend.

Leave a Reply

